skip to Main Content

Professor of Astronomy on the Maria Mitchel Chair, Vassar College

Debra Meloy Elmegreen is Professor of Astronomy on the Maria Mitchell Chair and Department Chair of Physics and Astronomy at Vassar College. She is President-Elect of the IAU and Chair of the AURA Board. She is  past vice chair of the NAS Board on Physics and Astronomy, and chaired the 2015 report on optimizing the U.S. optical and infrared system. She is a past member of the AAAC. She is past president of the American Astronomical Society, and received the 2018 AAS George van Biesbroeck Prize for service to astronomy. She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and past chair of its Astronomy Section. She is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her research is on the structure and evolution of galaxies observed at optical, infrared, and radio wavelengths.

Back To Top